Multiliteracies……

The Voki below originally had my voice, however both my 18-year-old son and my 11 year old grand-daughter said my voice sounded ‘daggy and boring’! Nice ay! Now the voice is that of my grand-daughter. Please turn your sound up and click on the arrow to activate her voice. If your page loads quickly you will not need to read the words in italics as those are the words she is saying.

 

 

Wow! This week’s tutorial was so full on, so much to take in! So many new cyber world things to know about that my mind was exploding!

Multiliteracies are using everything available, text, sound, image, etc to express yourself.

There are so many tools that students can use that it is mind-boggling, you practically need a University degree in Digital Media to be able to navigate through it all!

Although it was a lot to take in, there are so many advantages for children with these applications. Children who have problems writing can use their voice or a computer animated voice to produce assignments. Students with English as their second language would also find the tools very helpful to ensure they don’t feel left out. With all the tools now available teachers are able to cater to all styles of learning (VAKT).

Podcasting, Vodcasting & Digital Storytelling

Podcasting (audio recording) and Vodcasting (video) are excellent ways for children to bring out their creative side while learning (I hope you like my Voki!). These platforms are an example of Web 1.0 and 2.0 working together. The children are listening and viewing (Web 1.0) while producing (Web 2.0) their artifact. This goes to prove Web 2.0 needs its older brother!

I particularly like the use of digital storytelling, using multiple medias to tell a story. This makes it more interesting for the students who often become bored. As teachers we need to ensure our students are engaged and being in the digital era, where our students are,  there are so many options available to us. We are still teaching reading, writing, spelling, etc but now we are now using the resources and tools that children relate to.

A website for teachers to check out regarding the use of digital storytelling in education is http://digitalstorytelling.coe.uh.edu/index.html. Apart from children being able to produce their own stories, there are those available for teachers. One example is Storybird where you can both create a story or read one on the site.

7 Comments »

  1. Lexie Said:

    Hi Cindy, I really liked your Voki and your grand daughters voice was delightful 🙂 I like the point that you made about using multi-literacy resources, such as Vokis to assist students who are having difficulties in other areas. I think that it provides new opportunities for struggling students and also to students who are visual learners.

    • Purple Alien Said:

      Hi Lexie

      I see you found how to make a comment on my blog! Must be the settings I found for it and changed.

      Yes, my grandaughter loved the Voki when I showed it to her, except I had to change the background from the black and white spinning one to one she chose as she said it made her dizzy!

      She spent ages on Easter Saturday night putting her voice on there as she kept making mistakes when reading my words! She edited my writing slightly to make it easier for her.

      Her reaction when I showed her my Voki was “I wish my teacher would do stuff like this with us”, which shows that not all teachers are using the multiliteracy tools we are being taught to help us in our future teaching. She said her teacher doesn’t do anything with computers except Mathaletics.

      One of the things she said about her teacher is everyone in her class says she needs to retire as she is so old and boring! She is in year 6 at a private school!

      The things kids say behind the teachers back, makes me wonder what they will say about me especially as I like to have brightly coloured hair!

  2. Joanne Dixon Said:

    Hi Cindy,

    I liked your Voki as well. None of my children had ever heard of them or used them before and found them really interesting also. I think the Voki’s provide a really personal element to digital storytelling. Like you said, your grand daughter wanted to change bits so that it suited her more. It gives people more ownership and investment over what they are putting out which adds to the whole experience.

  3. Roshini Said:

    Hi Cindy!

    Kudos to your second attempt at creating a blog, its fantastic. I love the layout. 🙂

    I love how you incorporated new technologies (Voki) with hands on experiments (having your grand daughter speak in her voice). It is evident that students love having a go at these kind of tools. It is most definitely an asset to use such tools in a classroom.

  4. Mark Said:

    It was interesting to read your granddaughter’s comment: “I wish my teacher would do stuff like this with us”. I was also struck by the fact that she obviously spent so much time and energy modifying the script and perfecting her reading – what a great educational experience! And of course, as I’ve said on a few other blogs, she wasn’t just practicising digital literacies but was also practising very traditional literacy skills.

    • Purple Alien Said:

      Yes, she is an excellent reader and writer. The words you see there were meant for me to say as it was my reflection, however she said my voice was ‘daggy’ so she asked if she could do it. I printed out the words to make it easier for her to read, however after a few attempts, when it wasn’t going right for her, she went over the printed piece with a pen and changed some of the grammar and words and, in her words said, “it sounds better now nana”. She even picked up the errors such as ‘it’ when the word should have said ‘in’, one of the errors that she kept stumbling on as it didn’t sound right! Therefore, as you stated, it was a great example of traditional and digital literacy coming together without really thinking about it being so.

  5. jennie Said:

    Great blog Cindy – there is a lot of work in this and it looks great. I agree with your Voki (and granddaughter- well your words) about the applications of the technology. It really does seem to appeal to kids, they really do love hearing their own voices. The learning that can be filtered into the lesson before even producing the finish product can be quite substantial (especially with editing, sentence structure etc) – I love that, in a way it is tricky the kids in to learning, as all they are focused on is getting to that Voki, and what the teacher is doing is solid literacy.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

